Access to information and privacy office

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act came into effect on July 1, 1983.

These acts provide Canadian citizens, permanent residents or any person (or entity) present in Canada the legal right to obtain information, in any form, that is under the control of a government institution. The general purpose of these acts is to make government more open and transparent, allowing citizens to more fully participate in the democratic process.

On July 2, 2013, Passport Canada was integrated with Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), while Service Canada assumed responsibility for delivering passport services in Canada. The responsibility for processing access to information and privacy requests is therefore shared between CIC and Employment and Social Development Canada (which includes Service Canada), as detailed below.

How to make a request under the Privacy Act

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by a government institution and provides individuals with a right to access and request correction to this information. In accordance with section 7 of the Privacy Act, personal information can only be used in accordance with the purpose for which the information was collected or for a use consistent with that purpose.

Information protected by the Privacy Act can only be disclosed with the consent of the person to whom it relates or in accordance with the exception terms of subsection 8(2) of the Privacy Act.

A request for personal information held in 2002 or after should be made to Employment and Social Development Canada.

A request for personal information held in 2001 or before and/or that involves an investigation file should be made to Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

Note: Investigation files relate to investigations undertaken by Passport Canada to determine whether the passport application or the passport holder may be subject to refusal or revocation provisions of the Canadian Passport Order.

How to make a request under the Access to Information Act

The Access to Information Act gives individuals a right to access records under the control of a federal government institution in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public, that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

A request for a copy of Passport Canada’s corporate records should be made to Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

A request for records regarding the delivery of passport services should be made to Employment and Social Development Canada.

Bureau de l'Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983.

Ces lois accordent aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et à toute personne (ou entité) se trouvant au Canada le droit d'obtenir des renseignements, sous quelque forme que ce soit, qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale. Ces lois visent à accroître la transparence et l'ouverture du gouvernement et à ainsi permettre aux citoyens de participer pleinement au processus démocratique.

Le 2 juillet 2013, Passeport Canada s'est joint à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, alors que Service Canada a la responsabilité de la prestation des services de passeport au Canada. La responsabilité du traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information et de protection de renseignements personnels est ainsi partagée entre Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et Emploi et Développement Social Canada (qui comprend Service Canada), comme défini ci-dessous.

Comment faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP) protège les renseignements personnels des particuliers détenus par une institution fédérale et accorde aux particuliers un droit d'accéder et de demander la correction de cette information. Selon l'article 7 de cette loi, les renseignements personnels ne peuvent servir qu'aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou pour un usage compatible avec ces fins.

Les renseignements protégés par la LPRP ne peuvent être diffusés sans le consentement de la personne concernée, à moins que ne s'applique une exception énoncée au paragraphe 8(2) de la LPRP.

Les demandes qui concernent les renseignements de l'année 2002 et des années ultérieures doivent être présentées à Emploi et Développement Social Canada.

Les demandes qui concernent les renseignements de l'année 2001 et des années antérieures et/ou qui concerne un dossier d'enquête doivent être présentées à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Remarque : Les dossiers d'enquête se rapportent à des enquêtes entreprises par Passeport Canada afin d'établir si la demande de passeport ou le titulaire de passeport peuvent être visés par les dispositions sur le refus et la révocation prévues dans le Décret sur les passeports canadiens.

Comment faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information (LAI) confère aux particuliers un droit d'accès aux documents de l'administration fédérale en consacrant le principe du droit du public à leur communication, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit étant précises et limitées et les décisions quant à la communication étant susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

Les demandes qui concernent les documents organisationnels de Passeport Canada devraient être envoyées à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Les demandes qui concernent la prestation des services de passeport devraient être envoyées à Emploi et Développement Social Canada.